Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Research

Research guide for the American Civil War

Daniel Library Databases

To access databases from the Daniel Library homepage, select the Find a Database tab. Databases are available in alphabetical order from the dropdown menu.

America: History & Life

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 600,000 bibliographic entries, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries

The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.

Ancestry.com

Ancestry.com is the world’s largest online resource for family history, with more than 1.6 million paying subscribers around the world as of March 2011. Over 6 billion historical records, over 60 million photographs.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides full-text access to thousands of articles from archived academic journals.  Date coverage varies by individual journal title, but a typical coverage range is from the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago.