Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civil War Research

Research guide for the American Civil War

Historical Newspaper Databases

To access newspaper databases from the Daniel Library homepage, select the Find a Database tab. Databases are available in alphabetical order from the dropdown menu.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

This comprehensive database provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects.


America’s Historical Newspapers

350,000 fully searchable issues from over 700 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies.


ProQuest Historical Newspapers (New York Times and Chicago Tribune)

This database searches both the New York Times (1851-2002) and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1985).