Daniel Library: Faculty Resources: Publishing Resources

List of Resources

ACRL – Association of College & Research Libraries a division of the American Library Association. This page provides a wealth of information on publishing.

Author’s Alliance - The mission of Authors Alliance is to advance the interests of authors who want to serve the public good by sharing their creations broadly. They create resources to help authors understand and enjoy their rights and promote policies that make knowledge and culture available and discoverable.

Understanding and Negotiating Book Publication Contracts (PDF)

Big Ten Academic Alliance (BTAA) - Formerly the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC). A consortium of 14 world-class American research universities, advancing their missions by sharing expertise, leveraging campus resources and collaborating on innovative programs.

Statement on Publishing Agreements (PDF)

COPE – Committee on Publication Ethics. COPE brings together all those involved in scholarly research and its publication to strengthen the network of support, education and debate in publication ethics

Creative Commons - Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that helps overcome legal obstacles to the sharing of knowledge and creativity to address the world’s pressing challenges. They provide Creative Commons licenses and public domain tools.

DOAB - Directory of Open Access Books. A discovery service for peer reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.

DOAJ – Directory of Open Access Journals. DOAJ is a co-author to the Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing that provide the basis of the DOAJ basic criteria for inclusion.

INASP – International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications. INASP is an international development charity working with a global network of partners to improve access, production and use of research information and knowledge, so that countries are equipped to solve their development challenges

ISSN – International Standard Serial Number. The CIEPS, also known as the ISSN International Centre, is an intergovernmental organization which manages at the international level the identification and the description of serial publications and ongoing resources, print and online, in any subject.

LIBER - (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche – Association of European Research Libraries) is the voice of Europe’s research library community.

OASPA – Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association. OASPA is a diverse community of organizations engaged in open scholarship with a mission to encourage and enable open access as the predominant model of communication for scholarly outputs.

OEN – Open Education Network. An alliance of higher education institutions, systems and consortia moving open education forward. The Open Education Network is based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.

Authoring Open Textbooks by Melissa Falldin and Karen Lauritsen. This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.

PLOS Public Library of Science. A nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

SPARC - Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition. SPARC is a non-profit advocacy organization that supports systems for research and education that are open by default and equitable by design.

Tool for evaluating OA (PDF)

STM - The International Association for Scientific, Technical and Medical Publishers. STM’s members are responsible for around two thirds of all published papers from the worlds of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities.

Think Check Submit - Think. Check. Submit. helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.

Books and Chapters Checklist Tool - a tool that will help you discover what you need to know when assessing whether or not a publisher is suitable for your research. The checklist template PDF is available for download.
Journal Checklist Tool - a tool that will help you decide if the journal you are considering is the right journal for your research. The checklist template PDF is available for download.
Resources about predatory publishing - Predatory publishers or journals are those which charge authors a fee for publication with no intention of providing the expected services – such as editorial or peer review – in return.

UKSG - United Kingdom Serials Group. UKSG exists to connect the knowledge community and encourage the exchange of ideas on scholarly communication. It is the only organization spanning the wide range of interests and activities across the scholarly information community of librarians, publishers, intermediaries and technology vendors.

WAME - WAME (pronounced “whammy”) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit voluntary association of editors of peer-reviewed medical journals from countries throughout the world who seek to foster international cooperation among and education of medical journal editors. Membership in WAME is free and all decision-making editors of peer-reviewed medical journals are eligible to join. Membership is also available to selected scholars in journal editorial policy and peer review. WAME has more than 1830 members representing more than 1000 journals from 92 countries

Principles of Transparency and Best Practice in Scholarly Publishing
- The Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE), the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), the Open Access Scholarly Publishing Association (OASPA), and the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) are scholarly organizations that have collaborated to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications. This is the fourth version of a work in progress (published September 15, 2022) Wide dissemination is encouraged!

Articles

Borrego, Ángel and Stephen Pinfield. "Librarians Publishing in Partnership with Other Researchers: Roles, Motivations, Benefits, and Challenges." portal: Libraries and the Academy, vol. 20 no. 4, 2020, p. 655-675. Project MUSE, https://muse.jhu.edu/article/766314.

Collister, Lauren B., et al. “The Library as Publisher.” The Serials Librarian, vol. 66, no. 1–4, May 2014, pp. 20–29. DOI.org (Crossref), https://doi.org/10.1080/0361526X.2014.879524.

Russell, Judith C., et al. Academic Library and Publisher Collaboration: Utilizing an Institutional Repository to Maximize the Visibility and Impact of Articles by University Authors. 2016, p. 13.

View of Better Together: An Examination of Collaborative Publishing between Librarians and STEM and Health Sciences Faculty. | Issues in Science and Technology Librarianship. https://journals.library.ualberta.ca/istl/index.php/istl/article/view/1699/1610.

Yousef, Atif. “Faculty Attitudes Toward Collaboration with Librarians.” Library Philosophy and Practice , 2010, https://digitalcommons.unl.edu/libphilprac/512/.

Other Publications

Alemneh, Daniel Gelaw, editor. Handbook of Research on the Global View of Open Access and Scholarly Communications. IGI Global, 2022. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-9805-4 (persistent URL Open Access)

Doherty, Brian, editor. Space and Organizational Considerations in Academic Library Partnerships and Collaborations. IGI Global, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-0326-2 (URL)

Falldin, Melissa, and Karen Lauritsen. Authoring Open Textbooks. Open Education Network, 2017. oen.pressbooks.pub, https://oen.pressbooks.pub/authoropen/.

Koutras, Nikos. Building Equitable Access to Knowledge Through Open Access Repositories. IGI Global, 2020. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-1131-2 (URL)

Munigal, Achala, editor. Scholarly Communication and the Publish or Perish Pressures of Academia. IGI Global, 2017. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-1697-2 (URL)

Publish or Perish: Librarians Collaborating to Support Junior Faculty to Publish Within the Academic Environment Book Chapter | IGI Global. https://www.igi-global.com/gateway/chapter/full-text-html/203178.

Sandu, Antonio,et al., editors. Ethics in Research Practice and Innovation. IGI Global, 2019. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-6310-5 (URL)

Subject and Course Guides

Publishing, Scholarly Communication, and Open Access: Overview & Issues, University Library/University of Illinois , 1 Oct. 2021, https://researchguides.uic.edu/sc.

Books

Writer's Market 100th Edition by Robert Lee Brewer (Editor)
Call Number: Z475 .W75 2021
ISBN: 9780593332030
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
The most trusted guide to getting published, fully revised and updated Want to get published and paid for your writing? Let Writer's Market, 100th edition guide you through the process. It's the ultimate reference with thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections, along with contact and submission information. Beyond the listings, you'll find articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing. Discover 20 literary agents actively seeking writers and their writing, how to develop an author brand, and overlooked funds for writers. This 100th edition also includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index. You'll gain access to: Thousands of updated listings for book publishers, magazines, contests, and literary agents Articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing A newly revised "How Much Should I Charge?" pay rate chart Sample query letters for fiction and nonfiction Lists of professional writing organizations
Open Book by James Wiser (Editor); Rolf Janke (General Editor)
Call Number: Z286.S37 O64 2017
ISBN: 9780997175714
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Open Book, in an authoritative and conversational way, introduces and defines many of the key services and products of academic publishers such as journals, reference, editorial, sales and marketing, licensing and copyright, and market research. The book also covers contemporary perspectives on Open Access, the university press, ebooks, and society publishing. Chapters from a notable librarian and publishing company CEO are also important contributions to this revealing book. Every academic librarian and new academic publisher employee should read this book to gain an important yet insider look with the intention of enhancing the publisher and library partnership.
Style Manual by Government Publishing Office (U.S.); United States Government Publishing Office Style Board; Davita E. Vance-Cooks (Directed By); Tony N. Gilbert (Editor)
Call Number: GP 1.23/4:ST 9/2016
ISBN: 9780160936029
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
Published since 1894, the GPO Style Manual is issued under the authority of section 1105 of title 44 of the U.S. Code by the Director of the GPO. The manual is prepared by the GPO Style Board as a guide to the style and form of Federal Government publishing. The GPO Style Manual has become a major reference source for professionals involved in the field of Federal printing and publishing. Designed to achieve uniform word and type treatment and economy of word use in the form and style of government printing, this manual has become to be widely recognized by writers and editors within and outside the Federal Government as one of the most useful resources in the editorial arsenal. In addition to a comprehensive revision the new Style Manual features: GPO's most recent digital initiatives Updates to foreign nation information Updates to State demonyms Treatment of words related to native entities recognized by the Federal Government Clarification of punctuation rules Updates to capitalization, abbreviations, and computer terms Inclusion of many suggestions from users Audience: Writers, editors, and others interested in the publishing field would find this manual useful. This reference is a "MUST HAVE" publication for content producers within the U.S. Federal Government --executive, judicial, and legislative branch agency offices. Other products produced by the United States Government Publishing Office can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/agency/241 Paperback format of this print title can be found here: https://bookstore.gpo.gov/products/sku/021-000-00218-6?ctid=241

Databases

Cabells This link opens in a new window
Worried about predatory publishing practices? Cabells is a resource that will help you navigate the ever-changing landscape of legitimate and questionable publishing. Specialists analyze over 60 behavioral indicators to keep the community aware of the growing threats and to keep academia protected from exploitative operations. Business set only.

Publishers

IGI Global Open Access Agreements & Transformative Options
The Open Access (OA) Movement has been an ongoing uncertainty for libraries and researchers. IGI Global is committed to eliminating this uncertainty by providing flexible options for institutions and libraries to participate in OA publishing, including:
• Open Access Agreements
• Transformative Open Access Options (Read & Publish)
• Publish & Read Agreements
They can work with you one-on-one for an analysis of your institution’s publishing appetite (faculty publishing history) and review these options or discuss additional solutions for your institution needs. This can include publishing workshop collaborations for educational awareness of ethical publishing and the OA movement.
Routledge
Here you’ll find resources and information on publishing with Routledge.

Documents

Routledge Book Proposal Template
This template was provided by Dr. Goldman as a tool to help those wanting to publish a book.