Skip to Main Content

Slavery and The University

1850 Slave Schedules (Board Members)

A.C. Garlington

Enslaved 10 individuals in Newberry, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau.“1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWZ-34W2.

C.S. Gadsen

Enslaved 8 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-XXNG-QH?i=16.

Daniel Wallace

Enslaved 10 individuals in Union, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWZ-BZMM.

David F. Jamison

Enslaved 65 individuals in Orangeburg, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWZ-Z9PZ.

Edward Croft

Enslaved 14 individuals in Greenville, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWZ-97T2.

F.W. Pickens

Enslaved 41 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-NV6Z.

Henry Young

Enslaved 22 individuals in Laurens, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HY-686S-9HJ?i=36.

Hugh Smith Thompson

Enslaved 31 individuals in Prince George Parish, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-6QT2.

Isaac D. Wilson

Enslaved 73 individuals in Society Hill, Darlington District, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-9NT2.

J.B. Patrick

Enslaved 4 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-813Z?from=lynx1UIV7.

James Henry Hammond

Enslaved 55 individuals in Barnwell, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-62KH-RNM?i=81.

James Jones

Enslaved 1 individual in Richland, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWZ-X8N2.

James W. Cantey

Enslaved 59 individuals in Camden, C.H. according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-K53Z.

Johnson Hagood

Enslaved 2 individuals in Barnwell, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-XXNL-XQ?i=145.

John H. Means

Enslaved 112 individuals in Buckhead, Fairfield District, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-P52M.

John Peter Richardson III

Enslaved 37 individuals in Sumter District, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRW8-4DZM. 

M.L. Bonham

Enslaved 35 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWC-37MM.

Rev. S.B. Jones

Enslaved 9 individuals in Anderson, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRW4-PLMM.

R.F.W. Allston

Enslaved 83 individuals in Prince George Parish, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-DCT9-YYZ?i=41.

R.G.M. Dunovant

Enslaved 26 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-DCT9-B1S?i=65.

Thomas C. Perrin

Enslaved 89 individuals in Abbeville District, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-62KH-YCN?i=195.

W.B. Seabrook

Enslaved 87 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-KS3Z.

William Aiken, Jr.

Enslaved 7 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HT-XXNL-7L.

William DeSaussure

Enslaved 14 individuals in Richland, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:S3HY-DZFS-SD1?i=6.

William H. Gist

Enslaved 139 individuals in Union, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRW8-8TMM.

William J. Hanna

Enslaved 29 individuals in Cherterville, C.H. according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-RHN2.

James Jonathan Lucas

Enslaved 17 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1850 Slave Schedule. 

United States Census Bureau. “1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-RHN2.

1860 Slave Schedules (Board Members)

A.C. Garlington

Enslaved 51 individuals in Newberry, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSX-GT?i=166.

F.W. Pickens

Enslaved 149 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSC-9MS2?i=176.

Henry Young

Enslaved 6 individuals in Laurens, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BS4-93G8?i=94.

Hugh Smith Thompson

Enslaved 35 individuals in Prince George Parish, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSZ-HQN?i=56.

Isaac D. Wilson

Enslaved 18 individuals in Society Hill, Darlington District, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSC-9M8S?i=26.

James Henry Hammond

Enslaved 134 individuals in Barnwell, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSX-TDF?i=134.

James Jones

Enslaved 4 individuals in Richland, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSX-TP?i=17.

J.B. Patrick

Enslaved 11 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBS8-9ZHM?i=15.

Johnson Hagood

Enslaved 23 individuals in Barnwell, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSX-9M81?i=155.

John H. Means

Enslaved 34 individuals in Fairfield, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSZ-HBC?i=153.

John Peter Richardson III

Enslaved 19 individuals in Sumter District, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSH-FCC?i=4.

M.L. Bonham

Enslaved 45 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSC-BHX?i=31.

R.F.W. Allston

Enslaved 55 individuals in Prince George Parish, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSZ-4Y4?i=108.

R.G.M. Dunovant

Enslaved 20 individuals in Edgefield, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSC-BL8?i=21

R.J. Gage

Enslaved 45 individuals in Union, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSH-DLF?i=73.

Thomas C. Perrin

Enslaved 39 individuals in Abbeville, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33SQ-GBSX-12Y?i=31.

W.B. Seabrook

Enslaved 37 individuals in Wadmalaw Island, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BS8-9CDN?i=26.

William Aiken, Jr.

Enslaved 19 individuals in Charleston, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BS8-9CHD?i=13.

William H. Gist

Enslaved 80 individuals in Union, SC according to this 1860 Slave Schedule.

United States Census Bureau. “1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://www.familysearch.org/ark:/61903/3:1:33S7-9BSH-6XR?i=12.

1850 Slave Schedules (Faculty Members)

1850 slave schedule listing enslaved people of Ladson Gregorie, R.W. Colcock, A.H. Brisbane, J.A. Leland, and the school itself

R.W. Colcock, A.H. Brisbane, J. A. Leland, the Military Academy, and Ladson Gregorie

This page of the slave schedule notably lists multiple slaveowning faculty members along with the school itself, including R.W. Colcock (Superintendent, Bursar, and Professor of Mechanics and Engineering c. 1844-1851), A. H. Brisbane ( Professor of History, Belles-Lettres and Ethics c. 1847-1851), J. A. Leland (Professor of Mathematics and Astronomy c. 1845-1851), and J. Ladson Gregorie (Bursar c. 1844-1856).

United States Census Bureau.“1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-T3N2.

1850 slave schedule listing enslaved people of Amory Coffin

Amory Coffin

It's unclear if this record refers to Amory Coffin Jr. ( Assistant Professor of French and Design c. 1864) or his father, but it does confirm that the Coffins were a slaveholding family in the antebellum period.

United States Census Bureau.“1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-Z4MM.

1850 slave schedule listing enslaved people of F. Gauthier

F. Gauthier

Professor of Drawing c. 1847

United States Census Bureau.“1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-LPW2.

1850 slave schedule listing enslaved people of J. B. Patrick

J. B. Patrick

Professor of Mathematics c. 1858-1864

United States Census Bureau.“1850 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1850, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:HRWH-813Z.

1860 Slave Schedules (Faculty Members)

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of A. H. Brisbane

A. H. Brisbane (pg. 1)

Professor of History, Belles-Lettres and Ethics c. 1847-1851

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK51-RNMM.

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of A. H. Brisbane

A. H. Brisbane (pg. 2)

Professor of History, Belles-Lettres and Ethics c. 1847-1851

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK51-RNMM.

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of J. P. Thomas

J. P. Thomas (pg. 1)

Professor of Belles Letters, History, and French c. 1852-1864. J. P. Thomas also published a history of the Citadel, The History of the South Carolina Military Academy, in 1893.

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK5T-LRPZ.

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of Ellison Capers

J.P. Thomas (pg. 2), P. F. Stevens, and Ellison Capers

This page notably lists multiple slaveholding Citadel faculty members, including J. P. Thomas (Professor of Belles Letters, History, and French c. 1852-1864, continued from a previous page), P. F. Stevens (Superintendant and Professor of Engineering, Mathematics, Astronomy, Belles Letters, Ethics, and French c. 1852-1860), and Ellison Capers (Instructor in Mathematics, c. 1844-1860).

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK5T-LRPZ.

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of J. B. Patrick

J. B. Patrick

Professor of Mathematics c. 1858-1864

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WKRM-VL2M.

1860 slave schedule listing enslaved people of William Hume

William Hume

Professor of Chemistry, Experimental Science, Mineralogy, and Geology c. 1844-1864

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK51-ZPMM.

Asbury Coward.

Superintendent of the Citadel c. 1890 to 1908. 

United States Census Bureau.“1860 US Federal Census- Slave Schedules.” Archival Collection. Washington, DC, 1860, National Archives and Records Administration, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:WK51-ZPMM.

City of Charleston Return of Deaths (Board Members)

Death record listing the death of Carolina, enslaved by R.F.W. Allston.

Carolina, enslaved by R. F. W. Allston.

Died of smallpox at the age of 24, and buried at the public burial ground.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via FamilySearch.com. https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:H57M-CLT2.

Death record listing the death of Charlotte, enslaved by William Aiken.

Charlotte, enslaved by William Aiken.

Died of mania á potu at the age of 37, buried at the Field of Rest.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/discoveryui-content/view/1107800:8741?_phsrc=DcA406&_phstart=successSource&gsln=aiken&ml_rpos=13&queryId=35a9588f7fd8e481e13bf8671bb0ca4d

Death record listing the death of Phillis, enslaved by William Aiken.

Phillis, enslaved by William Aiken.

Died of consumption at the age of 16, buried at the Trinity Colored Burial Ground.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/discoveryui-content/view/1031770:8741?_phsrc=DcA406&_phstart=successSource&gsln=aiken&ml_rpos=14&queryId=35a9588f7fd8e481e13bf8671bb0ca4d.

City of Charleston Return of Deaths (Faculty Members)

Death record listing the death of William, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

William, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Died of cholera at the age of 55.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/imageviewer/collections/8741/images/VRDUSASC1821_089249-00045?usePUB=true&_phsrc=DcA322&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&pId=1055086

Death record listing the death of Nina, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Nina, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Died of dropsy at the age of 46, and buried at the Trinity Colored Cemetery.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA324&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=black&gskw=a.%20h.%20mazyck&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=5&h=1028744&recoff=&ml_rpos=6&queryId=80a739a0b3a3461acb87cc894389fad3

Death record listing the death of an unnamed infant, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Unnamed Infant, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Buried at the city burying ground.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/discoveryui-content/view/931174:8741?_phsrc=DcA444&_phstart=successSource&gsfn=a&gsln=mazyck&ml_rpos=9&queryId=9a7eb14b07010f82872aff38b2a20b46

Death record listing the death of Ralph, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Ralph, enslaved by A. H. Mazyck.

Died of dropsy at the age of 12, buried at Trinity Colored Burial Ground.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA324&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=black&gskw=a.%20h.%20mazyck&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=8&h=1128578&recoff=&ml_rpos=9&queryId=80a739a0b3a3461acb87cc894389fad3

Death record listing the death of John, enslaved by A. H. Brisbane.

John, enslaved by A. H. Brisbane.

Died of dysentery at the age of 7.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/discoveryui-content/view/977829:8741?_phsrc=DcA326&_phstart=successSource&ml_rpos=1&queryId=e22399cb6abe22ca347c9602d9cc8616

Death record listing the death of Phillis, enslaved by Amory Coffin.

Phillis, enslaved by Amory Coffin.

Died of typhoid fever at the age 13, buried at Field of Rest.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestrylibrary.com/imageviewer/collections/8741/images/VRDUSASC1821_089252-00144?usePUB=true&_phsrc=DcA331&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&pId=933034

Death record listing the death of an unnamed infant, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Unnamed Infant, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Buried at First Baptist Colored Cemetery.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA339&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=colored&gskw=h.%20boylston&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=0&h=1128845&recoff=&ml_rpos=1&queryId=5a6a70d8298e4e42f39d8226cf97cd04

Death record listing the death of Ben, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Ben, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Died of tetanus at age 17, buried at Field of Rest.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA339&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=colored&gskw=h.%20boylston&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=1&h=1118179&recoff=&ml_rpos=2&queryId=5a6a70d8298e4e42f39d8226cf97cd04

Death record listing the death of an unnamed girl, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Unnamed girl, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Died of typhus at age 9.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA339&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=colored&gskw=h.%20boylston&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=2&h=966283&recoff=&ml_rpos=3&queryId=5a6a70d8298e4e42f39d8226cf97cd04

Death record listing the death of an unnamed infant, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Unnamed Infant, enslaved by H. Boylston.

Buried at Bethel Burial Ground.

South Carolina Department of Archives and History. “South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969.” Archival Collection. South Carolina, 1821-1969. South Carolina Department of Archives and History, via Ancestry.com. https://search.ancestrylibrary.com/cgi-bin/sse.dll?_phsrc=DcA339&_phstart=successSource&usePUBJs=true&indiv=1&dbid=8741&cp=0&_83004002=colored&gskw=h.%20boylston&msdpn__ftp=charleston,%20charleston,%20south%20carolina,%20usa&msdpn=21847&new=1&rank=1&uidh=7p3&redir=false&gss=angs-d&pcat=34&fh=3&h=999375&recoff=&ml_rpos=4&queryId=5a6a70d8298e4e42f39d8226cf97cd04

  • Last Updated: Feb 20, 2023 9:31 AM
  • URL: https://library.citadel.edu/c.php?g=1166893
  • Print Page