Slavery and The University

Journal of the Conventions of the People of South Carolina, Held in 1832, 1833, and 1852. Columbia: R. W. Gibbes, State Printers, 1860. https://www.google.com/books/edition/Journal_of_the_Conventions_of_the_People/48ywBz0NSrwC?hl=en&gbpv=0.

              The Journal of the Conventions of the People of South Carolina, Held in 1832, 1833, and 1852 is the 1860 republished journal of the proceedings of the Conventions of South Carolina from 1832, 1833, and 1852 accessed via Google Books for free. The journal goes over several of the Acts presented, discussed, and resolved at the South Carolina Conventions of 1832, 1833, and 1852. At the South Carolina Convention of 1852, Governor John Hugh Means and his fellow men resolve that South Carolina has the right to secede from the Union should the federal government interfere with slavery. They also determine that slavery was a “great blessing” to the African race but also it was moral and “necesary for the continued peace and prosperity” in the South. Governor John Hugh Means was a board member of the Board of Visitors for The Citadel. The information in the journal is useful to researchers for determining the state government’s views of slavery. Preliminary research into the Convention proceedings can be used to examine Governor Means’ ideologies on slavery.

Story, Joseph. Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States. Boston: Hilliard, Gray, and Company: Cambridge, 1833.

              According to the Citadel's register, this book was assigned to students for a class titled National and Constitutional Law from 1851-1853. Written by an associate judge of the Supreme Court, the author dissects many aspects of the constitution as he attempts to address some of the growing tensions over questions about the law during that time period. While he himself more likely leaned towards anti-slavery sentiment, Story is known for protecting the property of slave masters in the form of runaway slaves. While he might of disagreed with the practice, he was also a strong believer in property rights, which at the time the slaves were seen as. In this book, the reader can fully see how story used a scientific approach to his judicial writings and believed that this was the best way of preserving the Union, even if it was at the cost to Blacks. Interest to the research would be the textbook's constitutional approach to slavery and how it would shape the constitutional argument of the cadets leading up to the Civil War.

Coward, Asbury, 1835-1925, “Memoirs of Asbury Coward part one, circa 1835-1855,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, accessed November 15, 2021, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/1338.

             Asbury Coward was a member of The Citadel's Class of 1854. He would also later go on to become the superintendent of the Citadel from 1890-1908. Many of his letters and diaries have been donated to the Citadel’s archives and have been digitized. In the one journal he details his life growing up on his family’s plantation and how the enslaved would treat him and his relationship with them. What this source shows is how closely many of the higher ups in the Citadel were tied to slavery. 

Weyland, Francis. Elements of Political Economy. S.L.: Hansebooks, 1837.

              According to the Citadel's register going back until 1849, this book was assigned to students for a class titled Political Economy until 1855. This book discusses the economic nature of capital within the modern state. When discussing economic interactions between countries, it notes that the goal of such trade is for each state to trade excess goods and for each to benefit from the trade. The author notes how slavery is one of the few exceptions, that has one side seeking to wipe out the nations from which the slaves once inhabited. Slavery is discussed as an un-balanced, but needed social-economic system that often elevates one side while decimating the other. Interest to the research would be the book's discussion of slavery in a political and economic way and how that world view affected cadets, many of whom came from the plantation class

Abercrombie, John. The Philosophy of the Moral Feelings. New York, Harper and Bros, 1837.

              According to the Citadel's register going back as far as 1849, this book was assigned to students for a class titled Intellectual and Moral Philosophy until 1855. This book discusses the moral guiding of the human mind and around what factors should determine our actions. The author discusses the leading intellectual powers and traces the principles that should guide us in the investigation of truth. It delves into the idea of a just and moral society and how slavery and the forcible taking of another's freedom cannot coincide with the principles of justice. Interest to the research would be the book's insight to the morality that is being passed on to the cadets and how slavery might have interacted with this ideal society.

Simms, William. The History of South Carolina: From its First European Discovery to Its Erection into a Republic. 1842.

              According to the Citadel's register going back until 1849, this book was assigned to students for a general history class until 1853. In it, the author gives a deep rundown on the history of South Carolina, including its use of slaves since colonial times. The author admits to the importance of slavery in the development of the state and how it will be required for the continued success of South Carolina. The author notes how he believe that recent restrictions to the practice in nearby states is the leading cause of their economic and political struggles. During the Civil War, the author would become one of the leading voices calling for secession, giving speeches across the state. Interest to the research would be the importance of how the history of the state's use of slavery was being taught and how it was meant to shape the cadet's image of South Carolina's future.

Trotti, S. W., “Speech for the Calliopean and Polytechnic Literary Societies by S. W. Trotti, November 21, 1847,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/355.

              A typed version of the “Speech for the Calliopean and Polytechnic Literary Societies” given by S. W. Trotti [Samuel Wilds Trotti] at Commencement on November 21, 1847, and accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. The speech examines state supported education and the importance of the free school system for the education of youth. At points during his speech, Trotti comments on the Constitution and the federal government’s opinion of the Southern States continuing slavery. The information in this speech can be useful to researchers seeking to find examples of pro-slavery thought and anti-Union thought prior to the creation of the Confederacy and only a few years after the creation of the Citadel. Preliminary research reveals the personal pro-Confederacy and anti-Constitutional beliefs of a previous member of the Calliopean and Polytechnic Literary Societies

Fraser-Tytler, William. Universal History: from the Creation of the World to the Beginning of the Eighteenth Century. Boston: Thomas Wiley, Jr, 1848.

              According to the Citadel's register going back until 1849, this book was assigned to students for a class titled Political Economy until 1854. While delving into the broad history of the world, the book touches on the practice of slavery in the ancient world. While it mentions the conflict between the practice of slavery and a free nation, the practice is also assumed to be necessary for a functioning and successful nation. It makes note of slavery being a type of punishment, that stripping the freedom from another human should be used on the worst criminals. This comes through in the broader topic of the degrading nature of slavery and the link between freedom and manhood. Interest to the research would be the antebellum historical approach to slavery and how the discussion of ancient forms of slavery were being applied to the modern world of the cadets.

Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, “Minutes of the Board of Visitors of The Citadel, 1851,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/366.

              The “Minutes of the Board of Visitors of the Citadel, 1851” is a hand-written record of the 1851 Board of Visitor meeting with the Chair of the Board being James Jones accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. In Columbia, South Carolina on November 29, 1851, the Board discussed the case of Cadet Winsmith. They determined that even though he defrauded a negro woman by giving her a coin painted to look like it was worth more than it was, that suspension was punishment enough. The Board also does not blame the Superintendent Major Richard W. Colcock for his actions of suspending the student and believed he only did them out of a sense of duty. The Board believed Cadet Winsmith performed the action out of youthful indiscretion and not criminal intent and will not submit a report to the Corps even though the Cadet wished for it to be submitted. This information in the “Minutes of the Boards of Visitors” is useful to researchers seeking to uncover anti-equality thoughts of Citadel board members. Preliminary research of this summary of the board meeting reveals pre-Civil war thoughts of board members even if Cadets took criminal action against African Americans and can be used to examine pre-Civil War ideologies of board members.

Calhoun, John Caldwell., A Disquisition on Government. United States: Press of Walker and James, 1851.

               According to the Citadel's register, this book was added to the class on constitutional law in 1853 and was assigned until the closing of the school in 1865. Written by the South Carolina politician John Calhoun, the book laments the author sees as the growing oppression of the South by the Northern states. The author goes into the potential conflict over slavery and the fear he has over the growing influence of the federal government and how Southern politicians could quickly be out numbered by thier Northern counterparts. In this piece, the reader can see how the author pressed the importance for state's rights if the Union was to remain intact. Calhoun would become one of the most important figures in South Carolina's fight for secession and interest for the research would be how his writings are being implemented at the Citadel all the war through the Civil War.

Hagood, Johnson, 1829-1898, “Speech for the Citadel Alumni Association, "Military Strength of Nations" by Johnson Hagood, November 24, 1853,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/358.

              A typed version of the “Military Strength of Nations” speech given by Johnson Hagood to the Citadel Alumni Association on November 24, 1853, and accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. The speech examines military, political, and agricultural strategies of the government as of 1853. The speech also references the current complications of commerce in the federal government and the idea of slavery as of 1853. The information in this speech is useful to researchers seeking to find personal beliefs of students and alumni about slavery prior to the Civil War. Preliminary research reveals’ Hagood’s belief in the institution of slavery and the neccesity of it for the Southern states.

Cottrell, Joseph B., 1829-1895 , “Joseph Benson Cottrell Diaries 1854-1892,” The University of Florida Digital Collections, http://ufdc.ufl.edu/AA00026239/00001.  

             Joseph B Cottrell graduated from the Citadel in 1851 and would go on to serve in the Confederate army after the war he would then go on to become a minister. His diary which documents his life from 1854 to the late 1890’s can be found at the University of Florida digital collections. In this diary Cottrell describes how he viewed preaching to the black members of his church as a punishment due to a jealous preacher he served under. This source reveals his feelings towards Blacks at the time and can be used for future research. 

Paley, William, Richard Whately. Paley's Moral Philosophy: With Annotations. United Kingdom: J.W. Parker and sons, 1859.

              According to the Citadel's register, this book was assigned to students for a class titled Moral Philosophy from 1855 until the school's closing in 1865. As a Christian philosopher, Paley looks at the moral obligations of a Christian nation. While the author does note the difficulty of defending slavery under the laws of God, he does also warn of the potential danger of rushed emancipation. To immediately free the slaves would be to set one race upon the other and engulf the nation in violence according to the author. He makes notions that the practice of slavery should come to an end, but only after the safety of the state can be guaranteed. Interest to the research would be the use of a book that has a more anti-slavery purpose and the connection the author has with Christianity, which would in some cases be strong defenders of the practice of slavery throughout the South

Sellers, John C., “"Citadel Cadets at Tulifinny: How they received their 'first baptism of fire' in the war of the 60s as told by one of them" by John C. Sellers,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, accessed November 11, 2021, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/839.

              The "Citadel Cadets at Tulifinny: How they received their 'first baptism of fire' in the war of the 60s as told by one of them" is a letter written by Col. John C. Sellers in the 1860s and addressed to Capt. Ben B. Williams. The letter is primarily focused on the battle of Tulifinny in regards to the involvement of the Citadel Cadets leading up to, during, and after the battle. This letter, accessible through the Citadel Archives Digital Collections, may be of interest in regards to the services rendered to the Confederate Army by the Citadel Cadets. 

Porter, William D., “Speech for the Calliopean and Polytechnic Literary Societies, "State Pride" by William D. Porter, April 5, 1860,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/357.

              A typed version of the “State Pride” speech given by William D. Porter to the Calliopean and Polytechnic Literary Societies of the Citadel on April 5, 1860, and accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. The speech examines the South Carolina state government as well as its relationship with the federal government. Furthermore, it calls upon students to feel pride for the state of South Carolina and its accomplishments. The information in this speech can be useful to  researchers seeking to find examples of guest speakers at the Citadel and what kind of speeches The Citadel endorsed for their students to hear. Upon preliminary research, this speech reveals the beliefs of this guest speaker on standing up for the State’s rights of continuing slavery for the future of the State.

“THE PARADES YESTERDAY.” The Charleston Mercury, February 19, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861021901.00492.

              The newspaper article “THE PARADES YESTERDAY” was published in The Charleston Mercury on February 19, 1861 and accessed via Accessible Archives, Inc. The article discusses how 130 cadets marched in a parade to honor the Washington Light Infantry after the battle of at Morris Island and they marched to the Charleston Hotel where they waited for Governor F. W. Pickens to appear and, upon him doing so, Capt. J. P. Thomas (a professor) declared Confederate sentiments about himself and the Cadets being prepared to go to war for the ideals of the Confederacy. The information in the newspaper article is useful to researchers seeking to uncover the Citadel’s participation in pro-Confederate events. Preliminary research reveals a Citadel professor’s Confederate ideologies at the beginning of the Civil War and declaring those ideologies as the same as that of the student’s.

Patrick, John B., 1832-1900, “Journal of John B. Patrick, March 23, 1861-June 9, 1861,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, accessed November 8, 2021, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/782.

                This Journal can be found in the Citadel Digital Archives and is written by John B. Patrick who was a professor at the Arsenal Academy from March 23, 1861 to June 9, 1861. This journal describes his feelings and sentiments while employed at the Citadel and interacting with the students and seeing the confederate flag. It also describes his activities in the Citadel at Fort Sumter and can be a potential source to describe political sentiment among faculty as it shows his personal feeling about the Civil War when he was interacting with the Cadets and hints at ways he could have influenced them due to his own beliefs. This source may be useful in showing faculty sentiment towards the Civil War while it had just started.

“Our Morris Island Correspondence.” The Charleston Mercury, April 16, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861041605.00984.

              The “Our Morris Island Correspondence” is a newspaper article published in The Charleston Mercury newspaper on April 16, 1861, and accessed via Accessible Archives, Inc. The article discusses the fighting between Fort Moultrie held by the Confederacy and Fort Sumter held by the Union. The article mentions Professor Armstrong under Superintendent Major Stevens defending Fort Moultrie. Major Stevens is credited with supervising both regiments while Professor Armstrong is credited with “aiming mostly the forty two pound shot battery”. The information in the newspaper article is useful to researchers seeking to uncover the Citadel’s participation in Civil War battles. Upon preliminary research, while this does not reveal any personal ideologies, the battle reveals the participation of Citadel faculty members in the Civil War.

“FACTS GLEANED CONCERNING THE FIGHT OF SUMTER.” The Charleston Mercury, May 2, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861050203.01209.

              The “FACTS GLEANED CONCERNING THE FIGHT OF SUMTER” is a newspaper article published in The Charleston Mercury on May 2, 1861, and accessed via Accessible Archives, Inc. The article further discusses the usefulness of Professor Armstrong of the Citadel during the Battle of Fort Sumter and goes into further detail about the battle from the article “Our Morris Island Correspondence”. It also mentions Captain J. P. Thomas of the Citadel was part of the battle. The information in the newspaper article is useful to researchers seeking to uncover the Citadel’s participation in Civil War battles. Upon preliminary research, while this does not reveal any personal ideologies, the battle reveals the participation of Citadel faculty members in the Civil War.

Texas Archival Resources Online. (n.d.). Retrieved November 15, 2021. https://txarchives.org/utcah/finding_aids/04082.xml. 

Simkins, "why the ku klux.". (n.d.). Retrieved November 15, 2021, from https://www.houseofrussell.com/legalhistory/alh/docs/simkins.html.

             Graduating in the year 1861 William Simpkins would go on to fight for the confederacy and then go on to practice law in Texas as well as becoming a professor at the university of Texas’ school of Law. In addition, him and his brother would go on to start the Florida chapter of the KKK, and he would give many speechs that centered around slavery, rasicm and other “southern ideals”. Simpkins would also go on to have many of his works and teachings in law published in textbooks and become standard practices of law. Many of his works and speeches are housed atTexas Archival Resources. These may be the most direct sources to show the ideologies one graduate had towards African Americans and slavery. 

“The South Carolina Cadets Reviewed by Gen Beauregard. -Annual Drill Before the Board of Visitors.” The Charleston Mercury. March 22, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861032204.00764

             An article published by the Charleston Mercury describes the ceremony and speech that Gen. Beauregard spoke to the public in regards to the Civil War. This source can be accessed through the Accessible Articles database along with other similar articles. It discusses how in 1861 crowds of people gathered to watch the Citadel Cadet Corps run their drills. What is potentially useful for historians focusing on the connection between the Citadel and the Civil War is how the article talks about how the Citadel cadets proved their capacity upon the succession of South Carolina. Gen. Beauregard believed that the Cadets would be extremely useful in South Carolina’s military efforts. 

“Facts Gleaned Concerning the Fight of Sumter” The Charleston Mercury. May 2, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861011001.00099 
              This article, published in the Charleston Mercury in 1861, describes Citadel cadets taking first shots at the Fort Morris battle during the Civil War. This source discusses a way in which the citadel cadets were involved in the Civil War. When going into particulars it describes how 40 soldiers had come directly from the Citadel Cadet Corps as well as the overall battle and negotiations that took place at the end of the battle. This source can be accessed through Accessible Archives and could be useful in regards to both Civil War history and the Citadel’s involvement in the war.

“The Harbor Batteries .” Charleston Mercury. April 1, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861040102.00808
              This Newspaper article published by the Charleston Mercury was accessed through the Accessible Archives. Major P. F. Stevens writes about the Harbor Batteries and goes into detail about the different battles taking place in 1861. He even takes the time to add details such as  the lunch he had that day as well as military tactics that were employed and an overview of what had occurred.  The source may be of use because it has a lot of potential as a Civil War primary source and while it does not directly tie into the Citadel’s views on slavery, it does provide pro-Confederacy sentiment from the Superintendent of the Citadel Academy.

“THE NEW MILITARY LAW.” The Charleston Mercury, December 9, 1861. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1861120904.03080.

              “THE NEW MILITARY LAW” is a newspaper article published in The Charleston Mercury on December 9, 1861. The article discusses a new law requiring military service of all men between ages 16-60 during the Civil War including cadets and officers of Military Academy. While this new law does not reveal about the ideologies of any members of the Citadel, preliminary research does reveal the thoughts of the South Carolina government at the time. This article can be used by researchers to examine required military service of Citadel cadets and faculty as well as why or why not Citadel cadets and faculty participated in the Civil War.

“The War on the Seacoast- Our Casualties on New Year’s Day.”” The Charleston Mercury. January 6, 1862. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURL?AADoc=THECHARLESTONMERCURY.CI1862010904.03333

             This article from the Charleston Mercury lists the casualties from the battles on the seacoast during the first year of the Civil War. It later mentions Colonel Radcliffe, who was a graduate of the Citadel, who was involved in the Civil War. A point of interest about this article is how in a paragraph after mentioning Colonel Radcliffe it discusses South Carolina farmers and their confidence that the slaves they left on their plantations because of the war will have shelter and ample support. This source could be useful in the way it describes both sentiment towards slavery and ways in which it could be tied back to the Citadel, making it a potential useful source for slavery in the south.

Harrison, Jonathan Of Fairfield District, Fairfield County Will Typescript (Mss Will: Fairfield District Will Book R, Vol. 19, Page 304; Estate Packet: File 96, Pkg. 379). ​​http://www.archivesindex.sc.gov/.

Aiken, James, 1832-1908, “Journal of James Aiken, May 27, 1862 - April 20, 1865 - Part 2,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, accessed November 15, 2021, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/800. 

             James Adkin graduated from the Citadel in the year 1851, afterwards he would go on to become a lawyer in South Carolina. A journal detailing his time spent in the Civil war can be found at the Citadel’s digital archives. And him being assigned an executioner of a will regarding the distribution of Slaves can be found on the South Carolina Archives and History digital archive site.  The handling and execution of wills was one of his many tasks, which meant he often had to oversee the dividing up of slaves at those estates. What this reveals is how even if a graduate did not own slaves personally they were still involved in the slave trade and interacted with them on the daily. 

Patrick, John B., 1832-1900, “Journal of John B. Patrick, January 1, 1863-April 23, 1863,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/788.

              The handwritten “Journal of John B. Patrick” written by John B. Patrick, a student and alumni of The Citadel, from January 1 1863 through April 23, 1863, and accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. This is Patrick’s private journal discussing his day-to-day activities during the time he was a professor of mathematics and secretary for the Board of Visitors at the Arsenal Academy in Columbia and a lieutenant during the Civil War in charge of the Battalion of State Cadets. Patrick makes several notes about slavery and the Confederacy in his personal journal. On January 30, Patrick comments on a northern newspaper article he’s scene discussing the Union recognizing the Confederacy in exchange for the ending of slavery. He claims to fear the result of the policy and trouble awaiting the South due to most of the world disagreeing with slavery. On February 24, Patrick claims to have a suit of confederate clothes made from his father’s place and given to him by his mother and that he both prizes the suit and believes he will need another if the war lasts long. These journal entries are useful to researchers for insight into the private and personal feelings of students/alumni of The Citadel. Preliminary research of these journal entries reveals Patrick’s feelings towards slavery and the Confederacy.

“Charleston.” New York Herald. February 28, 1865. https://accessible.com/accessible/emailedURLAADoc=THENEWYORKHERALD.CI1865022801.11117
               An article written by Oscar G. Sawyer, published by the New York Herald, discusses the Union seizing the Citadel and the Arsenal from Confederate control in 1865 and saving it from being blown up. This source hints at the  end of the Citadel’s involvement in the Civil War as it was under the Union’s control by the time this article was written. This source could be useful to a Civil War historian or someone interested in the Citadel’s history as it highlights the Citadel’s shift away from the Civil War and the potential political changes that would occur after it.

Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, “Minutes of the Board of Visitors of The Citadel, 1882,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/549.

              The “Minutes of the Board of Visitors of The Citadel, 1882” is a hand-written record of the 1882 Board of Visitors meeting with the Chairman being Gen. Hagood accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. In the Citadel Building on June 13, 1882, the Board determined that, in case complications arose from “coloured” youths’ applications for Beneficiary scholarship, they would meet and discuss with the President of Claflin University. If the applicants passed examinations, they would be allowed to attend Claflin. The “Minutes of the Board of Visitors” is useful to researchers seeking to discover how far back The Citadel was considering allowing African Americans into a previously all-white institution. Preliminary research of the summary of the board meeting can be used to examine post-Civil War ideologies of board members on African Americans wanting to join The Citadel and The Citadel’s associations with Claflin University.

Thomas, John P., “Speech for the public commemoration of the re-establishment of The South Carolina Military College by John P. Thomas, February 22, 1883,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/458.

              The “Speech for the public commemoration of the re-establishment of The South Carolina Military College by John P. Thomas, February 22, 1883” is a speech presented by Colonel J. P. Thomas, the 6th Superintendent of The Citadel, on February 22, 1883, and accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. The speech is a public commemoration of the re-establishment of The Citadel. The information in this speech is useful to researchers seeking to uncover the pro-Confederacy beliefs of Citadel faculty and staff after the Civil War. Preliminary research of this speech reveals post-Confederacy ideologies of a previous president of The Citadel about slaves and the institution of slavery in comparison to other institutions.

Pressley, John Gotea. “J.G. Pressley Family History,” February 7, 1889. http://www.usgenwebsites.org/SCClarendon/pressleyhistory.html.

             John Pressley was a Citadel graduate of the class of 1851. He came from a wealthy planter class family. The County of Clarendon in South Carolina, has a transcription of a diary written by him in 1885, where he tells of his travels to his family’s plantation and visiting the slave quarters there. He also tells of his family’s tie with slavery and how one of his uncles used to be an overseer. This source can be used to tell of the feelings of a former graduate towards slavery and the role his family played in it. 

Capers, Ellison, 1837-1908, “Speech for Commencement by Ellison Capers, July 28, 1886,” The Citadel Archives Digital Collections, https://citadeldigitalarchives.omeka.net/items/show/459.

              The “Speech for Commencement by Ellison Capers, July 28, 1886,” is a typed version of the commencement speech given by Ellison Capers to the graduating class of 1886 accessed via The Citadel Archives Digital Collections. The speech discusses the beginnings of education in the South Carolina, the advancement of students and the South Carolina Military Academy, and the history of the South Carolina Military Academy. Preliminary research of this speech reveals Capers’s feelings on slavery and the Confederacy and on the purpose of the creation of the Citadel. It can be used by future scholars and researchers to see how faculty and alumni of the Citadel after the Civil War felt about slavery and the Confederacy, especially for those who fought during the Civil War as part of the Confederacy.

The Citadel, The Sphinx (Charleston, S.C.: 1915), Daniel Library Archives.

              This yearbook gives the Senior Statistics for the year of 1915 which gives the names, hobbies, favorite expressions, chief occupations, ideas of misery, and highest ambitions of Cadets and was accessed via the Daniel Library Archives. The cadet “Bill” Wallace claims his favorite expression is “Black baby whitewashed with tar”. This may be useful to researchers in studying the personal views and feelings of African Americans post-Confederacy. Preliminary research reveals that “Bill” Wallace often said an anti-African American expression.

McCarriar, Herbert Geer. “A History of the Missionary Jurisdiction of the South of the Reformed Episcopal Church 1874-1970.” Historical Magazine of the Protestant Episcopal Church 41, no. 2 (1972): 197–220. http://www.jstor.org/stable/42973346.

Eberly, Marion Stevens. Our Stevens Family Sketch, 1979.

             Graduating from the Citadel class of 1849, Peter Fayssoux Stevens would go on to be a reverend for the Confederacy during the civil war. Afterwards he would go on to open and lead an all Black Church and Congregation and then a professor at . His history can be found in Our Stevens Family: A Sketch, written by one of his descendants in 1979.  His legacy and contributions to the state can also be read in a Citadel bulletin posted in 1910 following his death. Peter F. Stevens idelodies then contribute to the complicated beliefs some of the graduates felt towards slavery and Blacks in the post war South.