Daniel Library: HIST 203 Introduction to the Discipline of History: Charleston, 1670-1860: Dr. Mushal: Search Historic Newspapers

Charleston Newspaper Microfilm @Daniel Library

1. Charleston Courier, Jan. 1803-June,1852;

Charleston Daily Courier, July 1852-April 1873; Location: Microfilm cabinet #4

News & Courier, April 1873-Dec. 1873;

News & Courier, Dec. 10, 1873 - Sept. 30, 1991, Merged with Evening Post, 1978

The Post & Courier, Oct 1, 1991-Dec. 31, 2013 (latest received) Arranged alphabetically in microfilm cabinets.

2. South Carolina Gazette, weekly newspaper published 1732-1775. Location: Microfilm cabinets, # 26, bottom drawer.

Suggested Newspaper Databases

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection includes nine South Carolina newspapers, date ranges from 1815-1899. On left side, go to "limit results by publication," click "browse place of publication," select South Carolina and/or cities, click "submit," then click "search."
Click on "Detailed Information" for history of the publication.
View facsimile of page and article, browse issue, and page, issue contents, download, print, email.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
The South Carolina Collection includes colonial and early American history and genealogy between 1732-1899. Brief histories provided about publications.
Issue contents are plain text, option to zoom and view page image.
In June 2023, Coherent Digital acquired Accessible Archives. Accessible Archives is now on the History Commons platform.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - Late 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Early American, South Carolina collection includes 26 titles. Coverage begins in 1783 through 1882. Click "Place of Publication" and select "South Carolina."
View facsimile of pages, includes zoom, full screen, download, and print options.

19th Century Newspapers

Charleston Mercury (Charleston, S.C.) Covers Jan 02, 1854-Dec 31, 1859

Charleston Tri-Weekly Courier (Charleston, S.C.) Covers July 16, 1853-Dec 30, 1896. Some gaps in coverage for 1855, 1858, 1864-66.

Would you like to learn more about newspapers' publication histories? Select "Publications List," from alphabetized list, select the newspaper title, then in the description for that newspaper, click on "View Detailed Information."

Suggested Websites

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, 1690-Present
Collection includes 122 digitized South Carolina newspapers, 1789-1925. Includes a description of the paper, browse issue, see first pages or issues, text, facsimile PDF, zoom, print, share.
Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
New York Times
Search archived NY Times articles since 1851. Create free subscription while physically on campus and connected to network at nytimes.com/grouppass