Daniel Library: African American Studies: Find Articles

Search the Library

Please note our new database and online journal links will require you to sign in with your Lesesne Gateway username and password (@nation.citadel.edu). If you encounter any issues, contact us at reference@citadel.edu.

Quick Search
Search for Books, Articles, and More

Advanced Search | My Account | WorldCat

Library Databases Faculty Resources Guide Research Guides The Citadel Archives

Recommended Databases

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives, Inc. was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Our online full-text search capability and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
In June 2023, Coherent Digital acquired Accessible Archives. Accessible Archives is now on the History Commons platform.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 600,000 bibliographic entries, providing an incomparable research tool for students and researchers of US and Canadian history.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Project MUSE
- This link opens in a new window