The Sphinx is the Citadel's student yearbook, published from 1900-present. It contains images of the campus, staff, and faculty, plus individual and group class photos of the graduating cadets and their activities. Also published under the name, Sphynx, in 1900 and 1995, and Citadelograph in 1901 and 1902. Please note, not published for the year 1944.
Both the Daniel Library and The Citadel Archives hold complete sets. Please visit the Information Desk to request a copy.
The Brigadier is the official student newspaper of the Corps of Cadets. It reports activities at The Citadel and includes features, sports, editorials, satire, and cartoons. Other titles are Citadel News and The Bulldog.
Daniel Library holdings begin with The Citadel News, no. 1 (Mar. 1919), located in Special Collections. The Citadel Archives also has copies of most issues.
The Gold Star Journal is the student scholarly journal of the Corps of Cadets and the Citadel Graduate College. Founded in 1996, the journal has promoted academic excellence through the publication of cross-disciplinary, nonfiction papers.
Issues from 1997 to 2020 are available in the Daniel Library Special Collections and online here.
The Shako is the literary magazine of The Citadel. It annually publishes creative work by current and past students of the institution. Publication began with volume 1, number 1, January 1931.
Complete sets of The Shako are held in the Daniel Library Special Collections and The Citadel Archive.
El Cid is the national journal of the Tau Iota Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, The Citadel, the national collegiate Hispanic honor society. Submissions by undergraduate and graduate students in Spanish represent all literary genres.
Issues from 2004-2019 can be found online here.
The Department of Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures publishes student work in Le Gaulois Litteraire, the Department's french language journal.
Three years are available online, 2009, 2013 and 2014, here.
Facebook Twitter Instagram Flickr
P: 843.953.6845 | F: 843.953.8446 | Text: 843.605.4536 | reference@citadel.edu
© 2018 Daniel Library