Official Register of Officers and Cadets of the South Carolina Military Academy
Official Registers, beginning in 1849, list the students who attended The Citadel in order of their merit in academic courses and conduct. Most Registers also list Board members, faculty and staff of The Citadel, and describe the courses of study. There are no issues from 1865-1882 because The Citadel ceased operation in 1865 and did not reopen until 1882. There are no issues for 1945-1946 due to World War II. NOTE: In accordance with FERPA, access from 1930 to present is only allowed for individuals accessing his or her record.
Registers from 1849-1900 can be found online on The Citadel Digital Collections website. Print editions from 1849-1988 can be found in The Citadel Archives and the Daniel Library Special Collections.
The Honor Manual of the Corps of Cadets
Published since 1955, The Honor Manual is issued by the Department of Cadet Activities under the direction of the Cadet Honor Committee. The manual explains the Cadet Honor System, its policies, trial procedures, appeal procedures and all details necessary for cadets to effectively abide by The Citadel's Honor Code.
The Honor Manuals from 1954-1989 can found online on The Citadel Archives Digital Collections website. Manuals from 1954-2019 can be found in the Daniel Library Special Collections. The latest edition (2020-2021) can be found online here.
The Guidon underwent name changes since its initial publication. Earlier volumes were known as The Citadel Handbook and The Palmetto. Starting with the 1939-1940 volume, The Guidon became the standard title. The Guidon is distributed once a year to every incoming fourth class cadet prior to the beginning of the cadre training period and is frequently referred to throughout the year. The Guidon is the fourth class regulation and orientation handbook and will familiarize the recruit with the customs and traditions of The Citadel. Updated annually, it explains the organization, operation and history of The Citadel.
Guidons from 1919-2018 can be found online on The Citadel Archives Digital Collections website. The 2019-2020 edition can be found online here.
Corps of Cadets Academic Catalog
The academic catalog of the Corps of Cadets, sometimes called the Bulletin and later The Citadel Catalog, provides curricula information, campus photographs, and campus information such as expenses and event calendars.
The academic catalogs from 1908-2020 can be found online on The Citadel Digital Collections website.
Regulation booklets include information on the organization and duty of officers and cadets, admission requirements, uniforms regulations, courses of instruction, examinations, discipline and room regulations.
Regulations from 1843-1858 and 1882-1905 can be found online on The Citadel Digital Collections website. Regulations from 1843-1999 are held in The Citadel Archives.
Blue Book Regulations for the South Carolina Corps of Cadets
First published in 1907, the Blue Book contains all regulations for cadet life and the fourth class system.
Blue Books from 1907-1992 can be found in The Citadel Archives and from 1907-2005 in the Daniel Library Special Collections. The latest edition (2020-2021) can be found online here.
The White Book
The White Book contains information about organizations and standard operating procedures.
The White Books from 1997 and 1999 can be found in the Daniel Library Special Collections. The latest edition (2019-2020) can be found online here.
FM 22 contains instructions for individual, squad, platoon, company, and battalion drills and ceremonies.
The Daniel Library Special Collections holds years 1940-1942, 1950, and 1953. The Citadel Archives holds 1940 and 1953. An online edition can be found here.
Cadet Uniform Regulations
This 13 page book was published by The Citadel in 1952 and is available at the Daniel Library in the Special Collections and The Citadel Archives.
Customs and Courtesies & The Art of Good Taste: a Guide of Social Skills for Ladies and Gentlemen
Etiquette guides distributed to the Corps of Cadets. The first versions from 1931-1965 were called Customs and Courtesies and then The Art of Good Taste: a Guide of Social Skills for Ladies and Gentlemen from 1965-1970.
All versions are held in The Citadel Archives. Customs and Courtesies from 1935 can be found online on The Citadel Digital Collections website.