Skip to main content

Citadel Alumni Genealogical Research Guide

This guide will help researchers use The Citadel Archives collections to conduct genealogical research on Citadel alumni.

Starting Your Research

Finding information on a Citadel alumnus can seem like a daunting task and you may not know where to begin your research. The staff at The Citadel Archives are here to help you on your Citadel genealogical journey!

This guide is divided into two sections depending on whether you are interested in conducting online or in-person research.

We usually recommend beginning your search online and then if you cannot find what you are looking for or need assistance, contact us by email at archives@citadel.edu. Depending on the nature and complexity of your request as well as the time period that you are interested in, we can proceed in three different ways:

*If you are searching for an alumni who would have attended The Citadel from 1842-1930, most of your research can be done online; for later years, you must contact the archive for assistance. We are working hard to get more information online as soon as possible.

  1. If the request is simple and does not require extensive research (example: looking in a yearbook for a photograph), one of our staff members would be happy to assist you, copy/scan the material, and send it you via email.
  2. If the request is more complex and will require more intensive research, you are welcome to schedule a research appointment to visit the archives. We are typically open Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM excluding major holidays. 
  3. If you are not local to Charleston or are unable to visit the archives in person, we have a list of independent researchers who may be available for a fee to conduct research for you. Please contact us for this list.

This guide was primarily created to help research Citadel alumni through the collections held by The Citadel Archives. If you are looking for information on more general genealogical research, The National Archives has a great website at https://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/start-research, which offers tutorials and guides as well as information on how to use and access their immense holdings.