Daniel Library: Primary Sources: Recommended Databases

Recommended Databases

Databases that we subscribe to that have significant primary source material.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database searches the New York Times (1851-2002) and Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985) at the same time.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history,Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects.
Chicago Tribune, 1847-1985 (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives, Inc. was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Our online full-text search capability and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
In June 2023, Coherent Digital acquired Accessible Archives. Accessible Archives is now on the History Commons platform.
African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - Late 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I.
350,000 fully searchable issues from over 700 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
The American State Papers is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of American history including foreign relations; Indian affairs; finance; commerce and navigation; military and naval affairs; genealogy; and political, social, cultural, and ethnic history.
Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Ancestry.com is the world’s largest online resource for family history, with more than 1.6 million paying subscribers around the world as of March 2011. Over 6 billion historical records, over 60 million photographs.
Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Historic Documents, 1972-2018 This link opens in a new window

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window

Post and Courier, Historical - Present This link opens in a new window
The Post and Courier, the South’s oldest daily newspaper, traces its roots to The Courier, founded in 1803, and The Evening Post, founded in 1894