Skip to main content

Coeducation Research Guide

The Citadel Archives

The Citadel Archives & Museum hold unique and interesting collections relating to the history of the institution. Names and keywords can be searched in our Online Guide to Collections.

To view archival materials or artifacts not available through our digital collections website, email us at archives@citadel.edu to schedule an appointment.

Nancy Mace at The Citadel. Photograph by Russell Pace. The Citadel Archives & Museum, Charleston, S.C.

Digital Resources

The Citadel Archives has a number of resources available for researchers to study the history of coeducation. We are actively working to provide greater online access to our historical collections. Current digital content for the history of coeducation includes:

  1. The Guidon, a Citadel publication for incoming cadets that outlines regulations, procedures, and facts. Issues of The Guidon of interest to research on the history of coeducation will begin circa 1996-1997.
  2. Letter, Claudius E. Watts III to the Citadel community, August 7, 1992
  3. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones Jr. et al. Appeal from the United States District Court for the District of South Carolina, September 9, 1993
  4. Speech, "Single-Gender Education: Is it beneficial to society?" Claudius E. Watts III, December 9, 1993
  5. Brochure produced by The Citadel defending single gender education, 1993-1996
  6. Editorial response, Claudius E. Watts III, February 21, 1994
  7. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones, Jr. et al. Findings of Fact, Conclusion of Law and Order, July 22, 1994
  8. Letter, Claudius E. Watts III to faculty and staff at The Citadel, August 4, 1994
  9. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones, Jr. et al. Appellants' Emergency Motion to Stay Orders Pending Appeal and Supporting Memorandum, August 5, 1994
  10. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones, Jr. et al. Brief of Appellee, October 11, 1994
  11. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones, Jr. et al. Defendants' Proposed Contingency Plan for Admission of Shannon Faulkner, June 1, 1995
  12. Court Document, Program Agreement between Converse College and The Citadel, June 1995
  13. Court Document, Shannon Richey Faulkner and the United States of America vs. James E. Jones, Jr. et al. Supplement to Defendants' Proposed Contingency Plan for Admission of Shannon Faulkner, June 16, 1995
  14. Public Relations Release, Statement by Claudius E. Watts III, August 11, 1995
  15. Revised Female Assimilation Plan, 1997-1998
  16. Oral history with Clarissa Lugo, Class of 2002
  17. Oral history with Jessica Maas, Class of 2011
  18. Interview with Sarah Zorn, Class of 2019

Other archival materials

  1. The Brigadier, The Citadel’s student newspaper. Articles relating to the battle for coeducation are located in issues from the 1990s and include opinion pieces on Shannon Faulkner’s lawsuit to be admitted to the Corps of Cadets.
  2. The Sphinx, The Citadel’s yearbook. Citadel yearbooks give an overview of cadet social life, academics, military and athletic life. The first Citadel yearbook including female cadets was 1996.
  3. The Blue Book, a Citadel publication detailing regulations for the Corps of Cadets.
  4. The White Book, a Citadel publication detailing administrative procedures for the Corps of Cadets.
  5. Russell Pace photography collection, illustrating significant events at The Citadel, including the 1990s and early 2000s.
  6. Coeducation Collection at The Citadel Archives
    • Newspaper and magazine articles relating to coeducation dating from 1994 to 2000
    • Court document from the Shannon Faulker trial dated March 2, 1993
    • “Save the Males” artifacts and description of the design and publicity campaign
    • Copies of articles from The Brigadier, The Citadel’s student newspaper

Coming soon: Oral histories with Citadel leadership

We are currently conducting oral history interviews with former President Claudius E. Watts III, former Interim President and Dean Roger C. Poole and former Commandant Joseph Trez. These interviews will discuss the history of coeducation at The Citadel, and will be made available online once they are complete.

We are also currently working to digitize select court documents and other materials relating to coeducation at The Citadel. As those materials become available on our digital collections website, this research guide will be updated.