Daniel Library: ENGL 402 Senior Seminar: Modernism and Postmodernism: Suggested Databases and Websites

Suggested English and Literature databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
- This link opens in a new window
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window Extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.
Literature & Poetry Criticism This link opens in a new window 19th and 20th Century literary criticism and analysis

Modernist Journals Project 1890-1922. Read the original full text of Modernist magazine essays and poems.
more...less...
The MJP is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922 (though the earliest journals that currently appear on the site date from 1896 and 1904), and a geographical range that extends to wherever English language periodicals were published. With magazines at its core, the MJP also offers a range of genres that extends to the digital publication of books directly connected to modernist periodicals and other supporting materials for periodical study.
The Cambridge History of English and American Literature The Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, song writers, and even non-English writing, such as Yiddish and Creole.
Voice of the Shuttle - VOS Web database of links and sites for humanities and literature research.

Modern

Virginia Woolf, Smith College, Mortimer Rare Book Collections, Woolf in the World: A Pen and a Press of her Own

Richard Wright, Yale University, Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscript Library, Wright Papers

F. Scott Fitzgerald, Princeton University Digital Library, Fitzgerald Collection

Postmodern

Cormac McCarthy, Texas State, The Wittliff Collections, Cormac McCarthy Papers