Publications by and about The Citadel: Digital Collections

Our Dedicated Team

We would not be able to offer these digital collections without the hard work of our volunteers, interns, student assistants, and donors. Thank you to all who help us make Citadel history available online!

The Citadel is a proud partner of the Lowcountry Digital Library, an online repository at the College of Charleston which documents the history and culture of the region while supporting current research initiatives and digital information across disciplines in support of scholarly inquiry. We also have digital collections hosted on the Internet Archive, a non-profit digital library. Digital content from both the Lowcountry Digital Library and the Internet Archive has been cataloged to our new website, and can be browsed and searched from archives@citadel.edu/digital

The Citadel's Archives & Museum Digital Collections

We are working to expand our digital presence, and have launched a new website to provide greater access and discoverability to our collections: archives.citadel.edu/digital

From the Julian John Gayden collection

Institutional Records & Publications

• Academic Catalogs, 1908-2018
• Board of Visitor Meeting Minutes, 1842-1865; 1882-1883
• Guidons, 1919-2014
• Official Registers, 1849-1864; 1883-1885
• Regulations, 1843-1858 (some gaps)
• Speeches

Manuscript Collections

• Charles P. Summerall World War I letters
• Ellison Capers Civil War letters
• James C. Fanning cadet letters, 1949-1953
• John H. David Jr. World War I collection
• Laura Bragg collection
• Oliver J. Bond collection
• Robert F. Woodhouse Jr. Vietnam collection
• Robert Oswald Sams Civil War reminiscences

Photographs

• Citadel Photograph collection
• Julian John Gayden World War II collection

Oral Histories

• The Citadel Oral History Program interviews

Museum Artifacts

• The Citadel Museum collection