Daniel Library: A Guide To Finding Newspaper Articles: Home

Newspaper Databases

Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives, Inc. was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only. In pursuit of this vision, primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times, and has been assembled into databases with a strict attention to detail allowing access to specific information with pinpoint accuracy. Our online full-text search capability and digital imaging permits the user to search and manipulate this information in ways never before possible.
In June 2023, Coherent Digital acquired Accessible Archives. Accessible Archives is now on the History Commons platform.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 - Late 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Includes Early American Newspapers, Series I.
350,000 fully searchable issues from over 700 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries, this online collection is based on Clarence S. Brigham’s “History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820” and other authoritative bibliographies
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
The American State Papers is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of American history including foreign relations; Indian affairs; finance; commerce and navigation; military and naval affairs; genealogy; and political, social, cultural, and ethnic history.
Chicago Tribune, 1847-1985 (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
With more than 55 million full-text articles from more than 1,400 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content. Videos and podcasts are coming soon.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Access issues from 1851 to 2017. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive database provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history,Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects.
Post and Courier, Historical - Present This link opens in a new window
The Post and Courier, the South’s oldest daily newspaper, traces its roots to The Courier, founded in 1803, and The Evening Post, founded in 1894
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database searches the New York Times (1851-2002) and Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1985) at the same time.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1984 - current.