Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by
Best money I have spent in a LONG time. "I'm a nursing student and part of our clinical rotation was to write down our patient's lab results and note on any abnormals why they were abnormal for my particular patient. This book lists out not just the normal levels, but what conditions can contribute to the high or low values. Sometimes it's pages and pages of possible reasons. This baby is a fantastic time saver for me." Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly."Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money." -- Amazon Reviewer The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this manual delivers all of the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete names for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Plus, a Body Systems Appendix includes a list of common laboratory and diagnostic tests for each body system as well as nutrition-related lab tests. Explore MORE online! Tap into Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete monograph library online, anytime, anywhere.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
SAFETY FIRST! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Fourteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS One-year subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have access to over 1,100 monographs from your desktop, laptop, or any mobile device with a web browser. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE...AT A GLANCE Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red, CAPITALIZED letters for life-threatening side effects Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV Administration subheads REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon Pharmacogenomic content Canadian-specific content Much more! LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Online at DavisPlus NEW! Student resources online at DavisPlus. (Redeem the Plus Code on the inside front cover of a new, printed text to access your DavisPlus resources.) Student Resources More than 1,100 Nurse's Med Deck-style, printable drug monographs for care planning and patient education Audio library for 1,200+ drug names Self-test tutorials Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/kg, and Fahrenheit/Celsius Interactive case studies Additional Resources Interactive flash cards Audio podcasts Video clips Animations Schematic brain illustrations Much more!
Emerging Technologies for Nurses by
Learn and innovate with the latest technologies in Nursing and Healthcare!The first text of its kind in nursing, this book provides up-to-date information on innovative, smart technologies that nurses can use in clinical and non-clinical settings to keep up with the changing face of healthcare. This compelling guide will provide you with information about exciting areas of technology that have great potential to improve patient care. Subjects include big data, artificial intelligence, virtual and augmented realities, connected technologies, and precision health. There is also discussion of the shift of healthcare delivery into the community, with an outlook on improving outcomes and enhancing practice. Each chapter focuses on developing competency in current and future real-world applications of emerging technologies. Early chapters describe how to utilize new tools, processes, models, and products to serve the Quadruple Aim of better managing populations, decreasing costs, and enhancing both the patient and the clinician's experience. The culture of innovation coincides with the ever-changing politics of healthcare in later chapters, which then evolves into the entrepreneurial opportunities for nurses. This text is an essential introduction for all practicing nurses, nurse leaders, and nurses teaching health IT or informatics courses. Key Features: Written by Nurses for Nurses The latest information on emerging Health Information Technology and associated Nursing Implications Compelling cases show the dramatic effect of innovations on value-based care Learn how applying novel technologies can improve patient care
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses, 4e
This ideal starter text for student nurses in pharmacology is now into its 4th edition. It makes pharmacology less intimidating by focusing on the knowledge needed at pre-registration level in order to safely and competently practice as a newly qualified nurse.
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
Award winner - 3rd place - AJN Book of the Year (Gerontologic Nursing)! The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres.Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care. They consistently feature chapter objectives, annotated references, evidence ratings for each protocol, and resources for further investigation. Each protocol is embedded within the chapter content to provide context and detailed evidence. The protocols consistently include an overview, evidence-based assessment, intervention strategies, and a supporting case study with discussion. PowerPoint presentations and a test bank are available as instructors resources. New Chapters: Informational Technology: Embedding CPGs Organizational Approaches to Promote Person-centered Care Environmental approaches to support aging friendly care HIV and the Older Adult LGBTQ Perspectives Key Features: Evidence-based geriatric protocols for best practices for in-patient, in-home, and long-term care settings Case studies with discussions in each chapter to illustrate application of clinical practice and related Nursing Standard of Practice Protocol Guidelines that are developed by experts on the topics of each chapter and are based on the best available evidence The AGREE systematic method was used to evaluate each protocol and validate this books content Instructors resources including PowerPoints and a Test Bank
False Dawn by
Since its initial publication in 1989 by Garland Publishing, Karen Buhler Wilkerson's False Dawn: The Rise and Decline of Public Health Nursing remains the definitive work on the creation, work, successes, and failures of public health nursing in the United States. False Dawn explores and answers the provocative question: why did a movement that became a significant vehicle for the delivery of comprehensive health care to individuals and families fail to reach its potential? Through carefully researched chapters, Wilkerson details what she herself called the "rise and fall" narrative of public health nursing: rising to great heights in its patients' homes in the struggle to control infectious diseases, assimilate immigrants, and tame urban areas -- only to flounder during the later growth of hospitals, significant immigration restrictions, and the emergence of chronic diseases as endemic in American society.
Fundamentals of Nursing by
Help your students develop the blended competencies (cognitive, technical, interpersonal, and ethical/legal) they will need to effectively care for patients in both institutional and community-based practice settings with this updated Eighth Edition of the best-selling Fundamentals of Nursing. Packed with clinical examples, proven pedagogy, striking illustrations, and online learning tools (including video clips, animations, and interactive learning activities), this best-selling text takes a holistic approach as it distills the fundamentals that nursing students need to know to respond to today''s healthcare challenges competently, enthusiastically, and accountably. Reflecting today''s rapidly evolving healthcare delivery system, the Eighth Edition offers new content, new pedagogy, a revised art and photo program, and a wide range of online teaching and learning resources to save you time and help your students succeed. Instructor Resources: A robust test generator with more than 1,250 questions helps you put together tests that assess your students'' understanding of the material. Test questions link to learning objectives. PowerPoint presentations make it easy for you to integrate the textbook with your students'' classroom experience, via either handouts or slide shows. Pre-Lecture Quizzes (and answers) are quick, knowledge-based assessments that allow you to check students'' reading. Guided Lecture Notes walk you through the chapters, objective by objective, and provide corresponding PowerPoint numbers. A Sample Syllabus provides guidance for structuring your nursing fundamentals course. A complete image bank enhances lecture and exam preparation. Discussion Topics (and suggested answers) can be used as a conversation starter or in online discussion boards. Strategies for Effective Teaching provide tips for teaching the course. Assignments (and suggested answers) include group, written, clinical, and Web assignments. Case studies (with related questions and suggested answers) give your students an opportunity to apply their knowledge to a client case similar to what they will encounter in practice. Journal Articles, updated for this edition, offer access to research available in WK journals A Master Checklist for Student Competency helps you track your students'' progress toward skill competency. Student Resources: NCLEX-Style Review Questions for every chapter (over 900 in all) help students review important concepts and practice for the NCLEX. Watch & Learn Video Clips reinforce skills from the textbook and bring concepts to life. Practice & Learn Activities present case scenarios with interactive exercises and questions to help students apply what they have learned. Concepts in Action Animations bring concepts to life and enhance student comprehension. A Spanish-English Audio Glossary provides terms and phrases for communicating with patients in Spanish. Journal Articles offer access to current research available in WK journals. Dosage Calculation Quizzes allow students to practice math skills and calculating drug dosages. To further enhance your course, you may want to consider purchasing other products within the integrated suite of products designed specifically for the 8th Edition. Created with the students'' experience in mind, and coordinated to provide a cohesive learning experience, each product in the suite can be purchased separately or packaged with the main text. The suite includes: Study Guide, Skill Checklists, Taylor''s Clinical Nursing Skills, Taylor''s Handbook of Nursing Skills, Taylor''s Video Guide to Clinical Nursing Skills, PrepU, and, new to this edition, Lippincott CoursePoint, a digital curriculum solution for nursing education that integrates adaptive learning powered by PrepU with access to personalized, perfectly timed remediation built on trusted content.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health is an authoritative source on public health issues. Topics focus on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic (local) and pandemic (widespread) diseases (H1N1, Malaria, food-borne illnesses, West Nile etc.); chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying and new substance abuse issues, plus much more. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures. Entries are focused on issues in the United States but include information on other countries, including Australia and the United Kingdom. Entries also include resources for further information, full-color illustrations and photographs, statistical tables, and Key Terms sidebars; the book will also provide contact information for organizations and government programs, a glossary, and cross references. Public Health is an excellent reference for high school and college students conducting research, as well as the general public
Global Pandemics and Epidemics by
This special edition provides information about widespread disease outbreaks and their associated threats, as well as information about disease management and advice about what to do when infectious diseases spread rapidly to many people.
Health Assessment Guide for Nurses by
This guide is organized around information that prepares the student to perform health assessment while integrating knowledge of nursing, communication and the sciences.
This link opens in a new window
Health Policy and Politics: a Nurse's Guide by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Health Policy and Politics: A Nurse's Guide, Sixth Edition encompasses the entire health policy process from agenda setting through policy and program evaluation. This is an essential text for both graduate and undergraduate students. The Sixth Edition features expanded information on the breadth of policy making and includes the impact of social media, economics, finance and other timely topics. The authors draw from their extensive experience and provides concrete examples of real-life situations that help students understand the link between nursing, policy theory and political action.New to the Sixth Edition:Updated theory content across all chaptersNew case studies reflect current issuesDiscussion Points connect theory to practiceNew chapter focused on how students can become involved in the policy process
INSPIREd Healthcare : a value-based care coordination model
In today's environment where healthcare costs are outpacing the economy, healthcare systems are shifting from fee-for-service to value-based payment to deliver high-quality care while reducing costs. This shift presents nurses with the opportunity to take the lead in transforming care delivery and achieve the Triple Aim goals: improving patient experience of care, improving health of populations, and reducing per capita healthcare costs. INSPIREd Healthcare follows author Billie Lynn Allard and her team of nurses as they successfully implement an accountable community of health in pursuit of the Triple Aim. The INSPIRE Model they follow provides an evidence-based blueprint for other healthcare systems hoping to solve the complicated problems surrounding care transitions and health promotion
Master the NCLEX-RN by
Peterson's® Master(tm) the NCLEX-RN® is a comprehensive source of information designed to help candidates score their best on the licensing exam to become a registered nurse. With its content aligned to the test plan developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN®) and practice exercises built to reinforce those concepts, this guide provides effective test preparation for what candidates will encounter on the actual exam. It also includes information about nursing concepts, nursing procedures, and pharmacology plus details on nursing specialties. 4 full-length practice tests--2 in the book and access to 2 online--all with detailed answer explanations Diagnostic test to pinpoint strengths and weaknesses Practice questions designed to provide comprehensive review of all subjects covered on the actual licensing exam Listings of state boards of nursing as well as professional organizations
McGraw-Hill's 2020/2021 Top 300 Pharmacy Drug Cards by
A fast, fun, and effective way to learn essential information about the top 300 drugs McGraw-Hill Education's 2020/2021 Top 300 Pharmacy Drug Cards, Fifth Edition delivers everything pharmacy and nursing students need to know about the top 300 drugs in one easy-to-carry resource. Every card includes: Generic and common name, Class, Dosage Forms, Approved Dose and Indications, Off-Label Use, Contraindications, Adverse Reactions, Drug Interactions, Monitoring Parameters, Medication Safety Issues and Black Box Warnings, and strong focus on patient safety. *Provides photos so students can view tablets and packaging *Includes audio Q&A with detailed discussion for each drug at Top300DrugCards.com *15 bonus cards on key adult and pediatric vaccines *Great for NAPLEX® and course review!
Nursing Fundamentals by
This Nursing Fundamentals textbook is an open educational resource with CC-BY licensing developed for entry-level nursing students. Content is based on the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) statewide nursing curriculum for the Nursing Fundamentals course (543-101), the 2019 NCLEX-RN Test Plan, the 2020 NCLEX-PN Test Plan, and the Wisconsin Nurse Practice Act.
The Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Manual by
This review manual prepares students to successfully pass the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner board certification examination. It encompasses all of the essential knowledge required, uses a succinct outline format that highlights critical detail, and systematically follows the test blueprint so that those taking the exam will be optimally prepared.The review manual begins with an overview of the certification examination, self-care, and test tips; the role of the psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner, scope of practice, and regulations; and the theoretical foundations of care. Other topics examined include the neuroanatomy and physiology of mental illness; psychopharmacology; physical assessment, diagnostic tests, and differential diagnosis. A wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5, are also reviewed. Each of the chapters include learning objectives, and easy-to-read outline format, and end-of-chapter review questions. The review manual concludes with a 150-question practice test. Key Features: Reflects the latest ANCC test blueprint Includes test-taking strategies and tips for preparing for the big day; scope of practice; and theoretical foundations of care Covers a wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5 Includes end-of-chapter review questions and rationales, PLUS a valuable 150-question practice test with rationales-more than 400 questions in total Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
The Routledge Handbook of Public Health and the Community by
Community health is an emerging and growing discipline of public health and it focuses on the physical, social, and mental well-being of the people of specific districts. This interdisciplinary field brings together aspects of health care, economics, environment, and people interaction. This handbook is a comprehensive reference on public health for higher education students, scholars, practitioners, and policymakers of health care. There are five key thematic sections in the book: perspectives in public health; community health in practise; planning, built, and social environment and community health; digital and mobile health; and, towards sustainable health in the community. Each theme explores the leading research and trends. This book aims to help achieve the shared goal of healthier communities and quality of life for the residents. This collaborative work should be a very useful handbook to health professionals and government bodies in the planning of initiatives to improve population health, prevent chronic diseases, control infectious diseases and outbreaks, and prepare for natural disasters. This handbook integrates research and practise of public health in the　community.
Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Pocket Guide by
Sparks and Taylor's Nursing Diagnosis Pocket Guide, third edition, by Dr. Linda Phelps, offers a quick guide to clearly written, authoritative care plans covering the entire life span and helping to meet patients' health care needs. A consistent, easy to use, four color design makes accessing information and designing care plans quicker and simpler. With its easy-to carry size, this guide is the perfect addition to the classroom and the clinical setting. Sparks and Taylors Nursing Diagnosis Pocket Guide thoroughly integrates the nursing process, 2015-2017 NANDA-I diagnoses and standards, the Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) and Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) labels. The guide is organized using a unique assessment framework based on the NNN Taxonomy of Nursing Practice: A Common Unifying Structure for Nursing Language (Dochterman & Jones, 2003) and the intervention terms from the International Classification for Nursing Practice (INCP Version 1; International Council of Nurses, 2005). This framework provides a comprehensive yet easy-to-use format for writing care plans for clients.
Study Skills : For Nursing, Health and Social Care
An accessible textbook to help students develop their study skills
Quick Search
Search for Books, Articles, and More
Advanced Search | My Account | WorldCat
Library Databases Faculty Resources Guide Research Guides The Citadel Archives
The Daniel Library orders books, audio-visual materials, journals, indexing/abstracting, electronic databases -- in short, anything supporting the college curriculum. We welcome suggestions for new titles and replacements for outdated or missing titles. Teaching faculty, send requests through your department's library liaison or through the library's liaison to your department.