English Language and Literature

The William Blake Archive is an online hypermedia environment that allows its users to access high-quality electronic reproductions of a growing portion of Blake's work. These reproductions have been prepared according to the highest technical and scholarly standards, with the cooperation of a number of the major museum, library, and private collections.

Cambridge History contains over 303 chapters and 11,000 pages, with essay topics ranging from poetry, fiction, drama and essays to history, theology and political writing. The set encompasses a wide selection of writing on orators, humorists, poets, newspaper columnists, religious leaders, economists, Native Americans, and song writers.

Searchable interface to literary criticism and biographical info related to world literature from ancient times to the present. ipl2 is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment.

A database of plain-text electronic books, mostly classics of English and American literature and reference works.

Brown University's project to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive.

A free online resource for literary texts and reference books such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and thesauri.

The Shakespeare Quartos Archive is a digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions.

Web site for humanities research