PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains over 150,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
A national information system supported by the U. S. Department of Education, National Education Library, and the Office of Educational Research and Development. Indexes scholarly and professional journals in education and related fields, as well as documents not published in journals.
Addressing Multicultural Needs in School Guidance and Counseling by Simon George Taukeni (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019-11-30
Globalization and shifting demographics have led to a call for an immediate change in education-based counseling. Future school counselors must be equipped with 21st century skills that are applicable across cultural boundaries and applied in a global context. Addressing Multicultural Needs in School Guidance and Counseling is a pivotal reference source that provides a framework for school counselors and life skills teachers to implement globally-focused comprehensive school guidance and counseling programs in schools, as well as intervention strategies that effectively deal with psychosocial issues facing students and their families. Highlighting topics such as child abuse, diversity awareness, and antisocial behavior, this publication explores skills applicable to the global cultural shift and the methods of guiding students to reach a higher level of self-fulfillment in their lives. It is ideally designed for school administrators, school counselors, psychologists, educational professionals, academicians, researchers, and students.
Boundary Issues in Counseling by Barbara Herlihy; Gerald Corey
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Counseling Gifted Students by Susannah M. Wood
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
"Drs. Susannah Wood and Jean Peterson have combined forces to move the field of school counseling forward in its work on behalf of gifted students... This subtle regularizing into appropriate school counseling practice is actually quite radical as is makes it clear that the time has passed to consider whether we should be concerned with the nature and needs of students with gifts and talents, but rather need to move to serving them as a requirement of our profession... And fortunately for all of us, the authors provide a clearly articulated roadmap for helping us live up to our professional responsibilities." --Tracy L. Cross, Ph.D. Created to fill a gap in both counselor education and gifted education, this is the only up-to-date text to provide a concise and practical overview of counseling services designed specifically for gifted and talented students. Grounded in the American School Counselor Association (ASCA) National Model for counseling programs, the book illuminates specific knowledge, awareness, and skills school counselors need to address concerns related not only to academics, but also to social and emotional development of this population. The text delivers a theoretical and practical overview of gifted and talented education in the United States and the responsibilities of school counselors as they pertain to this unique population. Going well beyond the common call to provide academic challenge, the book considers special characteristics of gifted and talented students as it examines the complexities of career development, college readiness, and concerns related to social and emotional development. It discusses how counselors can advocate for gifted students, lead efforts to match programming and needs, and collaborate with school staff and families. Vignettes depicting critical incidents and epitomizing needs are used to illuminate differentiated counseling approaches that support this student population. Each chapter highlights a key concept, and curriculum guidelines and resources for professional development support the text. KEY FEATURES: Interweaves school counseling and gifted education research and practiceConsiders characteristics and counseling concerns associated with giftednessIs based on the ASCA model for counseling programsExamines the complexities of career development, college readiness, and social/emotional development in this populationHighlights key concepts and includes vignettes of critical incidents
Counselor Education in the 21st Century by Jane E. Atieno Okech; Deborah J. Rubel
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Dsm-5 Learning Companion for Counselors by Stephanie F. Dailey; Carman S. Gill; Shannon Karl; Casey A. Barrio Minton
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Written for an audience that includes private practitioners; counselors working in mental health centers, psychiatric hospitals, employee assistance programs, and other community settings; as well as counselor educators and their students, this helpful guide breaks down the concepts and terminology in the DSM-5 and explains how this diagnostic tool translates to the clinical situations encountered most frequently by counselors. After describing the major structural, philosophical, and diagnostic changes in the DSM-5, the book is organized into four parts, which are grouped by diagnostic similarity and relevance to counselors. Each chapter outlines the key concepts of each disorder, including major diagnostic changes; essential features; special considerations; differential diagnosis; coding, recording, and specifiers; and, where applicable, new or revised criteria. Clinical vignettes help both clinicians and students visualize and understand DSM-5 disorders. Author notes throughout the text assist readers in further understanding and applying new material.
Evaluating Student Learning Outcomes in Counselor Education by Casey A. Barrio Minton; Donna M. Gibson; Carrie A. Wachter Morris
Publication Date: 2016-04-14
This timely text describes the role of program evaluation in counselor education and provides step-by-step guidance for faculty seeking to develop comprehensive Student Learning Outcome (SLO) evaluation plans to meet accountability expectations. It serves as a blueprint for demystifying the SLO process and making the switch from an input-based measure of productivity that focuses on what counseling programs do, to an outcome-based approach that concentrates on the quality of learning through evidence-based assessment of students' knowledge and skills. The first and second parts of the book lay the foundation for the SLO process and provide practical guidance for identifying and developing direct and indirect measures of student learning. Part III offers strategies for creating measures; collecting, managing, and reporting student data; and using data to ensure competence. In Part IV, counselor educators across the country offer hands-on application through a wide variety of SLO activities and rubrics linked to each of the curricular and specialty areas of the 2016 CACREP Standards. *Requests for digital versions from ACA can be found on www.wiley.com. *To purchase print copies, please visit the ACA website *Reproduction requests for material from books published by ACA should be directed to email@example.com
A Practical Ethics Worktext for Professional Counselors by Charles Jacob; Ariane Thomas; Diana Wildermuth
Publication Date: 2020-03-28
Teaches counselors how to think and act quickly when facing ethical dilemmas.This practical worktext addresses common ethical quagmires faced by counseling professionals. Boasting sixty-three case examples in compliance with CACREP's accreditation standards, this must-have resource demonstrates step-by-step application of decision-making models to real life counseling scenarios. Each chapter includes seven cases related to a section of the ACA's code of ethics examined carefully using a specific decision-making model. The case examples included are designed to be relatable and accessible while demonstrating the process of arriving at a solution that reflects the standards of professional counseling. Valuable features include "Questions for Discussion," "Straight from the Code," "Applying a Decision-Making Model," "The Likely Answer," and in-class discussion activities and exercises at the end of each chapter. Key Features: Includes 63 real-life case examples demonstrating step-by-step application of decision-making models Teaches counselors how to think and act quickly when facing ethical dilemmas In compliance with CACREP accreditation standards Maps to the ACA Code of Ethics Includes group discussion questions Includes role playing activities Helps professionals to reconcile personal and professional values
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by Irmo Marini (Editor); Mark A. Stebnicki (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
"This book contains much useful information, including professional practice, ethics, cultural considerations, assessment, and intervention. This will be a wonderful addition to the libraries of students and professionals alike... Score: 97 - 5 Stars " --Gary B. Kaniuk, PsyD, Cermak Health Services, Doody's Reviews Praise for the first edition "Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics... U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." --Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009) This award-winning, bestselling reference for professional counselors and graduate students is extensively updated and expanded to encompass critical developments that are immediately relevant to the counseling professions, including the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics, CACREP/CORE accreditation standards, the updated DSM-5, the Affordable Care Act, and many other important changes. It reflects the ongoing consolidation of a strong identity for professional counselors and the need to address mental health and other counseling concerns amid marked sociocultural changes. The only resource of its kind, it is an extremely useful guide for counseling students working toward licensure and certification as well as experienced counselors, counselor educators, clinical supervisors, psychologists, and social workers. The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice. It is based on the core content and knowledge areas outlined by CACREP and CORE accreditation standards and disseminates, in 93 chapters, both contemporary insight and practical strategies for working with the complexity of real-life issues related to assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of diverse clients. New chapters address military and veteran health issues; evidence-based practice for training; counseling transgender individuals, partners, and families; counseling caregivers; social justice; and much more. In addition to being a quick-access resource for all counseling professionals, the second edition serves as a concise, accessible reference for graduate students preparing for certification and licensure exams. It features an expanded, comprehensive self-exam of 340 multiple-choice items based on the CACREP/CORE foundational content and knowledge areas for counselor education and training. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded discussion of ethical issues, including the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics Affordable Care Act and its impact on delivery of mental health services Coverage of DSM-5 Promotes an interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines Includes an expanded self-exam with 340 study questions for National Counselor Examination for Licensure and Certification (NCE) and Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE) prep New chapters on military and veteran mental health issues New chapters on evidence-based practices for counseling, social justice, and behavioral health and health disparities in the United States New chapters on counseling caregivers, children with psychiatric conditions, and survivors of natural disasters New chapter on counseling for wellness New information on complementary, alternative, and integrative approaches New information on counseling LGBTQ couples, partners, and families Key Features: Covers all key foundational content for CACREP/CORE-accredited programs within one volume
School-Based Behavioral Assessment, Second Edition by Sandra M. Chafouleas; Austin H. Johnson; T. Chris Riley-Tillman; Emily A. Iovino
Publication Date: 2021-01-08
Revised and expanded with the latest tools and strategies, this concise book offers guidance for effectively conducting social, emotional, and behavioral assessments in today's K-12 schools. The expert authors present foundational knowledge on assessment and data-based decision making at all levels--whole schools, small groups, or individual students--within a multi-tiered system of support (MTSS). Chapters describe when, why, and how to use extant data, systematic direct observation, direct behavior rating, and rating scales. In a large-size format for easy photocopying, the book includes reproducible forms and templates. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials. New to This Edition *Reflects a decade of change in behavioral assessment, including an increased focus on screening and progress monitoring. *Includes current knowledge about the defensibility, usability, repeatability, and flexibility of each method. *Focuses on social, emotional, and behavioral assessment within MTSS frameworks. *Chapter on practical applications, featuring in-depth case studies. *Reproducible tools now available online. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series, edited by Sandra M. Chafouleas.
The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.