Skip to main content
Daniel Library Logo

Multinational Peacekeeping

Includes the mandating, deployment, and maintenance of multinational peacekeeping operations of the United Nations and selected regional/subregional organizations such as NATO, the OAU, ECOWAS, and Arab League.

Chicago Citation Style Guide

Chicago Style

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.

The author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided. (The Chicago Manual of Style)

Turbian Style

Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertationspresents two basic documentation systems: notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style) and author-date style (sometimes called reference list style). These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, sixteenth edition, with slight modifications for the needs of student writers. 

Bibliography style is used widely in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in footnotes or endnotes and, usually, a bibliography.

The more concise author-date style has long been used in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in parentheses in the text by author’s last name and date of publication. The parenthetical citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided. (Kate L. Turbian)

 


Daniel Library, The Citadel | 171 Moultrie Street | Charleston, SC 29409 | 843.953.6845 | reference@citadel.edu

© 2017 Daniel Library