Daniel Library: American Government and Politics: Find Political Data

Statistics and more

American Elections 1787-1825
Tufts digital collection & archives
American Presidency Project
Bureau of Labor and Statistics
Congressional District Statistics
Find basic demographic and economic statistics for every congressional district in the U.S.
Summary level statistics covering education, finance, jobs and housing, as well as basic demographic information, can quickly be displayed, downloaded and shared with others.
Interactive Electoral Map
My Congressional District
provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level - See more at: http://www.census.gov/mycd/application/#sthash.DHhPlmBj.dpuf
Political Facts
PolitiFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times to help you find the truth in American politics. Reporters and editors from the Times fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists and interest groups and rate them on our Truth-O-Meter
State legislators and legislation
DISCOVER POLITICS IN YOUR STATE
Find your legislators, review their votes, search upcoming legislation, track bill progress
U.S. Census Bureau

Books and Print Journals

Almanac of American Politics - political overview for each state with background and analysis of Congessional Districts [Ref. JK271. B343] Library Use Only

Politics in America - details on careers and positions of all members of Congress [Ref. JK1010 P64] Library Use Only

2014 - 114th Congress (online)

Congressional Quarterly Almanac - annual narrative account of Congressional activity, legislation, rollcall votes [Government Document]

U.S. Congressional Serial Set - reports, documents and journals from 1817 through 1980, including all pictures and maps. This is a rich collection of primary sources on all aspects of American history, from the Executive and Legislative Branches of goverment [Goverment Document]

The Almanac of American Politics - 2016 by Richard E. Cohen; James A. Barnes; Charlie Cook (Introduction by); Michael Barone (Introduction by); Louis Jacobson (Contribution by); Louis Peck (Contribution by)
ISBN: 1938518292
Publication Date: 2015-10-16

Find Key Players in Government

Almanac of American Politics 1984-2016

Congress and the Nation 1977-2012 (95th-112th Congress) - includes legislation, issues, and events. Call number REF JK 1001 C6 (use the index)

Congressional Quarterly Almanac 1948-2014 - includes provisions, background, and major players
Congressional Quarterly's Politics in America 1992-2016 - key players

Congressional Directory
Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.